Chemical decontamination

Decontamination is the process of transferring one or more radioactive substances present on a surface or in a material to a packagable environment (waste, flakes, films, towels) for storage. The effectiveness of decontamination decides the destiny of the decontaminated support. It is assessed according to two methods:

  • Measurement of decontamination factor FD = Initial activity / Final activity,
  • Measurement of the reduction factor of dose rate FRDD = Initial dose debit / Final dose debit.

There are two types of contamination:

  • Labile (not fixed): Surface contamination transferable by suspending or training.
  • Fixed : Contamination strongly linked to the support by physical or chemical bonds.

The main processes of decontamination are:

  • Physical decontamination which consists in mechanically removing the contamination by friction or pulling the material. Examples: decontamination of concrete by nibbling, decontamination of metals by machining, melting decontamination, peelable film.
  • Chemical decontamination that involves suspending the contamination in a solution or gel or trapping it in flakes. There may be erosion or not of the support.
  • Joint decontamination = chemical + physical. Examples: towels impregnated with a decontaminating solution, ultrasonic baths with decontaminating solution.

To choose a decontamination process, several criteria must be taken into account:

  • Decontamination objective : maintenance, decommissioning or dismantling,
  • Characteristics of the contaminated material (nature, shape, surface),
  • Nature of the contaminants,
  • Assessment of waste and effluents generated by the process,
  • Risks associated with the exposure of personnel,
  • Cost of the operation.

Chemical decontamination can be used on labile as fixed contamination. It has the advantage of not generating volatile dust and allowing remote interventions with soft and light material. The products used can be liquid, foam or gel, at neutral, acid or alkaline pH, corrosive or oxidizing. The choice is according to the type of contamination, the decontamination objective, the nature of the material (steel, stainless steel, concrete, plastic, etc.), the form (soil, vertical wall, pipes, etc.), the surface state (presence of fat, crystalline boron, oxidation, etc.) and whether effluents can be generated.

A product is effective when properly applied. The choice of spray equipment is essential. This choice is made depending on the type of product to use, the time allotted to the operation, the sources of energy and the space available, the amount of product required and the intervention or not of a remote manipulator.

La décontamination

La décontamination est l’opération qui consiste à transférer une ou plusieurs substances radioactives présentes sur une surface ou dans un matériau, vers un milieu conditionnable (effluents, paillettes, films, lingettes) en vue de son stockage. L’efficacité de décontamination décide du devenir du support décontaminé. Elle s’évalue selon 2 méthodes :

  • Mesure du facteur de décontamination : FD = Activité initiale / Activité finale,
  • Mesure du facteur de réduction du débit de dose : FRDD = Débit de dose initial / Débit de dose final.

Il existe 2 types de contaminations :

  • Labile (non fixée) : Contamination de surface transférable par mise en suspension ou entrainement.
  • Fixée : Contamination fortement liée au support par des liaisons physiques ou chimiques.

Les principaux procédés de décontamination sont les suivants :

  • Décontamination physique : consiste à enlever mécaniquement la contamination par frottement ou arrachement de la matière. Exemples : décontamination des bétons par grignotage, décontamination des métaux par usinage, décontamination par fusion, film pelable.
  • Décontamination chimique : consiste à mettre en suspension la contamination dans une solution ou un gel ou à l’emprisonner dans des paillettes. Il peut y avoir érosion ou non du support.
  • Décontamination mixte = chimique + physique. Exemples : serviettes imprégnées de solution décontaminante, bains à ultrasons avec solution décontaminante.

Pour choisir un procédé de décontamination, plusieurs critères sont à prendre en compte :

  • objectif de décontamination : maintenance, déclassement de déchets ou démantèlement,
  • caractéristiques du matériau contaminé (nature, forme, état de surface),
  • nature des substances contaminantes,
  • bilan des déchets et effluents générés par le procédé,
  • risques liés à l’exposition du personnel,
  • coût de l’opération.

La décontamination chimique peut être utilisée sur des contaminations labiles comme fixées. Elle a pour avantage de ne pas générer de poussières volatiles et de permettre des interventions à distance, avec des matériels souples et légers. Les produits utilisés peuvent être liquides, moussants, gélifiés, à pH neutre, acide ou basique, corrosifs  ou oxydants. Le choix du produit se fait selon le type de contamination, l’objectif de décontamination, la nature du matériau (acier, inox, béton, plastique, etc.), sa forme (sol, paroi verticale, tuyauterie, etc.), son état de surface (présence de gras, de bore cristallisé, d’oxydation, etc.), possibilité ou non de générer des effluents, etc.

Un produit n’agit efficacement que s’il est correctement appliqué. Le choix du matériel de pulvérisation est donc primordial. Ce choix se fait en fonction de la nature du produit à utiliser, du temps imparti à l’opération, des sources d’énergie et de l’espace disponibles, de la capacité de produit nécessaire et de l’intervention ou non d’un télémanipulateur.